Home Office · Police powers and procedures: arrests

Arrests for notifiable offences by self-defined ethnicity

Year ending March 2025 Final

754,046arrests

Arrests for notifiable offences by self-defined ethnicity were 754,046 arrests in the year ending March 2025, up 4.6% (32,943) from 721,103 in the year ending March 2024.

▲ 4.6% · +32,943 against Year ending March 2024 (year on year)

  1. Home Office count
  2. Year ending March 2025
  3. published 19 August 2026
  4. A.01c
  5. row “2024/25
  6. column “Total
  7. cell value 754046

Year ending March 2007 to Year ending March 2025

Arrests for notifiable offences by self-defined ethnicity: Year ending March 2007 to Year ending March 2025LabourLabourCoalitionCoalitionConservativeConservativeConservativeConservativeLabour0500k1m2010201520202025Before: People who identify as Chinese counted in the Other group. After: People who identify as Chinese counted in the Asian (or Asian British) group.definition changeYear ending March 2007: 1,474,843 arrests · published 19 August 2026Year ending March 2008: 1,475,266 arrests · published 19 August 2026Year ending March 2009: 1,462,139 arrests · published 19 August 2026Year ending March 2010: 1,385,322 arrests · published 19 August 2026Year ending March 2011: 1,353,740 arrests · published 19 August 2026Year ending March 2012: 1,225,123 arrests · published 19 August 2026Year ending March 2013: 1,068,823 arrests · published 19 August 2026Year ending March 2014: 1,021,356 arrests · published 19 August 2026Year ending March 2015: 941,692 arrests · published 19 August 2026Year ending March 2016: 879,570 arrests · published 19 August 2026Year ending March 2017: 762,419 arrests · published 19 August 2026Year ending March 2018: 693,681 arrests · published 19 August 2026Year ending March 2019: 685,176 arrests · published 19 August 2026Year ending March 2020: 676,476 arrests · published 19 August 2026Year ending March 2021: 646,215 arrests · published 19 August 2026Year ending March 2022: 648,714 arrests · published 19 August 2026Year ending March 2023: 667,799 arrests · published 19 August 2026Year ending March 2024: 721,103 arrests · published 19 August 2026Year ending March 2025: 754,046 arrests · published 19 August 2026

Published valueProvisional or revisedLatestDashed line: change in coverage or methodShaded bands: governments (see labels)Hover or use arrow keys to read a value

What this measures

Persons arrested for notifiable offences in England and Wales in the year ending March, split by the ethnicity the arrested person gave (Asian, Black, Mixed, White, Other) with "Not stated" as its own category.

What this doesn’t measure

Officer-observed ethnicity (published separately in table A.01d), rates per head of population, or the offending of any group; an arrest is not a charge or a conviction.

Important caveat

Ethnicity is self-defined by the person arrested and recorded by the officer. Where it was not given it is published as "Not stated"; that row is kept here as its own category and is never removed or redistributed. The Not stated share has grown since 2018/19 and reached 61 per cent of Metropolitan Police records in 2024/25 after the force changed its data system in November 2022, so the England and Wales figures for every named group understate arrests of people in that group by an unknown amount. From 2019/20 people who identify as Chinese are counted in the Asian (or Asian British) group; before that they were in Other. Arrests are a measure of police activity, never of the offending of any group.

When the way this was measured changed

A series can move because the thing being measured changed, or because the way of measuring it changed. Each change below is marked on the chart, and says what the figures meant on either side of it.

April 2019 · definition change

Before
People who identify as Chinese counted in the Other group.
After
People who identify as Chinese counted in the Asian (or Asian British) group.

From 2019/20 people who identify as Chinese are counted in the Asian (or Asian British) group; before that they were counted in Other (Home Office note 3).

Revision history

No period of this series has been revised since it was first ingested here. Revisions are recorded automatically when a later release publishes a different figure for the same period.

Source

Publisher
Home Office
Publication
Police powers and procedures: arrests
Release
2026-08-19, published 19 August 2026
Source file
arrests-data-tables-summary-mar25.ods
File SHA-256
142aea7e95bcc50b16b0bd03e403ac45e782ce2284b49484f03fb222f4fa3357
Retrieved
2 September 2026
Sheet
A_01c
Table
A.01c
Row
2024/25
Column
Total
Cell value
754046
Geography
England and Wales
Unit
arrests
API
/api/metrics/arrests_by_ethnicity · /series · /vintages

Government periods

Change during each government, from the level inherited to the last complete period before it left office. Describes the period; does not attribute cause.

Conservative 2019–2024685,176Year ending March 2019721,103Year ending March 2024 5.2%
Conservative 2017–2019762,419Year ending March 2017685,176Year ending March 2019 10.1%
Conservative 2015–2017941,692Year ending March 2015762,419Year ending March 2017 19.0%
Coalition 2010–20151,385,322Year ending March 2010941,692Year ending March 2015 32.0%

Full comparison with chart

Release
2026-08-19 · publication page
Last updated
19 August 2026
Next release expected
November 2026 (estimated from the usual cadence)